The Institute of Electrical Machines (IEM) at RWTH Aachen University with the Chair of Electromagnetic Energy Conversion deals in its research, in its scientific services for industry and in its teaching with all aspects of the calculation, further development and application of electrical machines and electromagnetic energy converters. These are, for example, asynchronous machines, permanent magnet motors, transverse flux machines, switched reluctance machines and linear drives. The practical applications of IEM work extend in the field of small electrical machines from a few watts to large drive powers in the megawatt range. Drive motors for hybrid vehicles, electric vehicles and on-board auxiliary power units or work on simulating the electrical on-board network in motor vehicles are among the core fields of the IEM.

E-motor design

Your Contact

Maximilian Lauerburg, M. Sc.
maximilian.lauerburg@iem.rwth-aachen.de
Phone: +49 241 80-97683

Battery design

Your Contact

Cem Ünlübayir, M. Sc.
cem.uenluebayir@isea.rwth-aachen.de
Phone: +49 241 80-49403

Power electronics

Your Contact

Dipl.-Ing. Markus Neubert
markus.neubert@isea.rwth-aachen.de
Phone: +49 241 80-99606

The Institute for Power Electronics and Electrical Drives (ISEA) at RWTH Aachen University has been active in numerous research fields for more than 40 years. These include power electronics, power electronic components, electric drives, electrochemical energy conversion and storage system technology. The institute has been headed since 1996 by Professor Dr. ir. Dr. h. c. Rik W. De Doncker, who was also appointed director of the "E.ON Energy Research Center" in 2006. In addition to publicly funded research projects, the focus in the R&D area is on cooperation with national and international companies. In addition, the ISEA offers services for companies in almost all areas of work – including surveying, expert opinions and consulting.

The Institute of Welding and Joining Technology (ISF) at RWTH Aachen University has been working on modern welding and joining technologies for almost 60 years. Almost all industrially relevant, material-bonding joining processes are worked on. These include arc welding processes with their modern process variants, the entire spectrum of electron and laser beam welding processes, resistance and friction welding processes as well as adhesive bonding technology and – in cooperation with the Jülich Research Center – soldering and diffusion welding.

ISF RWTH Aachen Logo

Joining technology in electromobility

Joining technology in electromobility

Your Contact

Eric Helfers, M. Sc.
eric.helfers@isf.rwth-aachen.de
Phone: +49 241 80 97235

Battery and electric motor production

Battery and electric motor production

Your Contact

Benjamin Dorn, M. Sc.

Phone: +49 1511 5621064

The chair Production Engineering of E-Mobility Components (PEM) at RWTH Aachen University stands for forward-looking research and innovation in the entire field of electromobility. The production processes of electric vehicles and their components are further developed in seven research areas. Application-oriented research projects are complemented by numerous industrial cooperations.

PEM RWTH Aachen Logo

Das Institut für Elektrische Maschinen (IEM) der RWTH Aachen mit dem Lehrstuhl für Elektromagnetische Energiewandlung beschäftigt sich in seiner Forschung, in seiner wissenschaftlichen Dienstleistung für die Industrie und in seiner Lehre mit sämtlichen Aspekten der Berechnung, Weiterentwicklung und Anwendung von elektrischen Maschinen und elektromagnetischen Energiewandlern. Dabei handelt es sich zum Beispiel um Asynchronmaschinen, Permanentmagnetmotoren, Transversalflussmaschinen, geschaltete Reluktanzmaschinen und Linearantriebe. Die praktischen Anwendungen der IEM-Arbeiten erstrecken sich auf dem Gebiet der elektrischen Kleinmaschinen von einigen Watt bis hin zu großen Antriebsleistungen im Megawatt-Bereich. Antriebsmotoren für Hybridfahrzeuge, Elektrofahrzeuge und Bordnetz-Nebenaggregate oder Arbeiten zur Simulation des elektrischen Bordnetzes in Kraftfahrzeugen gehören zu den Kernfeldern des IEM.

E-Motoren-Design

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Maximilian Lauerburg, M. Sc.
maximilian.lauerburg@iem.rwth-aachen.de
Tel.: +49 241 80-97683

Batterie-Design

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Cem Ünlübayir, M. Sc.
cem.uenluebayir@isea.rwth-aachen.de
Tel.: +49 241 80-49403

Leistungs-Elektronik

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Dipl.-Ing. Markus Neubert
markus.neubert@isea.rwth-aachen.de
Tel.: +49 241 80-99606

Das Institut für Stromrichtertechnik und Elektrische Antriebe (ISEA) der RWTH Aachen ist seit mehr als 40 Jahren in zahlreichen Forschungsfeldern aktiv. Dazu zählen Leistungselektronik, Leistungselektronische Bauelemente, Elektrische Antriebe, Elektrochemische Energiewandlung und Speichersystemtechnik. Das Institut wird seit 1996 von Professor Dr. ir. Dr. h. c. Rik W. De Doncker geleitet, der 2006 zusätzlich zum Direktor des „E.ON Energy Research Center“ ernannt wurde. Neben öffentlich geförderten Forschungsprojekten liegt der Schwerpunkt im F&E-Bereich auf Kooperationen mit nationalen und internationalen Unternehmen. Daneben bietet das ISEA in nahezu allen Arbeitsbereichen Dienstleistungen für Unternehmen an – unter anderem Vermessung, Gutachten und Beratung.

Das Institut für Schweißtechnik und Fügetechnik (ISF) der RWTH Aachen befasst sich seit fast 60 Jahren mit modernen Schweiß- und Fügetechnologien. Bearbeitet werden nahezu alle industriell relevanten, stoffschlüssigen Fügeverfahren. Dazu gehören die Lichtbogenschweißverfahren mit ihren modernen Prozessvarianten, das gesamte Spektrum der Elektronen- und Laserstrahlschweißverfahren, Widerstands- und Reibschweißprozesse sowie die Klebtechnik und – in Kooperation mit dem Forchungszentrum Jülich – das Löten und Diffusionsschweißen.

ISF RWTH Aachen Logo

Fügetechnik in der Elektromobilität

Fügetechnik in der Elektromobilität

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Eric Helfers, M. Sc.
eric.helfers@isf.rwth-aachen.de
Tel.: +49 241 80 97235

Batterie- und E-Motorenproduktion

Batterie- und E-Motorenproduktion

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Benjamin Dorn, M. Sc.

Tel.: +49 1511 5621064

Der Lehrstul Production Engineering of E-Mobility Components (PEM) der RWTH Aachen steht für zukunftsweisende Forschung und Innovationen auf dem gesamten Gebiet der Elektromobilität. In sieben Forschungsbereichen werden die Produktionsprozesse von Elektrofahrzeugen und deren Komponenten weiterentwickelt. Anwendungsorientierte Forschungsprojekte werden dabei von zahlreichen Industriekooperationen ergänzt.

PEM RWTH Aachen Logo